Menu Close

Board of Directors

SPARK’s Board of Directors consists of fifteen members who are elected annually by the membership. Board members serve for a minimum of 3 years and a maximum 6 years. Officers of the Board include the President, President-Elect, Secretary and Treasurer.  The role of the Board is to provide leadership that promotes and clarifies the mission of the organization; maintain fiscal accountability and support the organization’s growth and development through programs and activities.

Board Meetings   

The Board of Directors usually meets the 3rd Friday of even-numbered months at 9:30 a.m. at the SPARK Office, unless otherwise notified. All members are invited and encouraged to attend the Board meetings.  Board Meeting notices are published on the SPARK Website and in each quarterly Class Catalog.

2021 Officers and Directors

President: Bill Webb
President Elect: Gary Hindman

Secretary: Nancy Powel
Treasurer: Bill Hirsch

Board Members:  Baila Goldstein, Gary Hindman, David Jeter, Virginia Lambright, Jan Parks**, Carolyn Rowe, Linda Wade, Alan Perry, Barbara Dooley, Diana Taylor, LeeAnn Hays, Peggy Baker, Shirley Marshall, Judy Kirk (Ad Hoc member)  Diane Fillion (UMKC Ex-Officio Director)

**Past President 

2020 Board Meetings

  • January 7 (Annual Meeting)
  • February 19
  • April 16
  • June 18
  • August 19
  • October 21
  • December TBA

SPARK Committees

In addition to the Board of Directors, which is responsible for the overall operation of SPARK, there are five standing committees that implement the mission of SPARK. Members are encouraged to participate on these committees. It is a great way to support the organization, meet other members, and share your own interest and talents with SPARK. You can find out more about the committees by indicating your interests on page 2 of the printed SPARK class enrollment form or by completing our Volunteer Interest form by clicking HERE.